Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation, Excellence in Rehabilitation
Norris Hall was originally built in 1858, as the Abraham’s Home for elderly widows of Savannah. The 14,040 square-foot home was designed by the famed New York Architect, John S. Norris, in the Greek revival style. The facility functioned as a boarding house for over 100 years, run by the Savannah Widows Society. The three-story building was vacant in 1989 when it was purchased by the Savannah College of Art and Design. It was named Norris Hall as a tribute to the architect who designed it. In 2013, the school sought to re-purpose the interior in order to house their International Student Services and Study Abroad programs. The exterior restoration of the building has made a distinct aesthetic improvement to the less vibrant East end of Broughton Street. Norris Hall was honored with a 2015 Preservation Award for Excellence in Rehabilitation by the Georgia Trust.